University of Connecticut University of UC Title Fallback Connecticut

New and Exciting SFA Fall Courses for Non-Majors

0

Dear Students:

You might not have heard about some of the new and exciting courses in the School of Fine Arts.   This Spring, several courses that were previously open only to majors are now open to non-majors! Please see below for the list of open and eligible courses.   For a permission number to enroll in these courses (unless otherwise noted) contact Eva Gorbants eva.gorbants@uconn.edu or stop by her office (Art Building room 203). There is still time to register!

Art & Art History Department

ARTH 3020 Asian American Art and Visual Culture
MW 10:30-11:45am
Interested in contemporary art and artists? Explore how Asian artists in the United States, ranging from recent immigrants and refugees to the American-born deal with issues of identity, cross-cultural connections, and community through the visual arts. View artworks, artist videos, films, and guest lectures that vividly bring these issues to life.
Professor Margo Machida: margo.machida@uconn.edu

ARTH 3440 19th Century American Art
TuTh 11am-12:15pm
Revolution, civil war, railroads, robber barons, and more. Come learn about the visual culture of the United States in the long 19th century.
Professor Alexis Boylan: alexis.boylan@uconn.edu

ARTH 1140-01 & 02 Introduction to Asian Art
Sec 01: MW 3:35-4:50pm
Sec 02: MW 12:20-1:35pm
Art of China, Japan, India, Korea, Cambodia, Java etc. In this multicultural course we will study major artworks produced in Asia from the bronze age to the modern period. CA 1
Professor Yan Geng: yan.geng@uconn.edu

ARTH 1141 From Sun Gods to Lowriders: Introduction to Latin American Art
Sec 01: TuTh 12:30-1:45pm
Sec 02: TuTh 3:30-4:45pm
Mammoth pyramids and human sacrifice; conquest and revolution; skeletons riding bicycles; the Guadalupe Virgin and Frida Kahlo — this course has it all. Discover the art and culture of Latin America from the Aztecs to today. CA 1 and CA 4-INT
Professor Robin Greeley: robin.greeley@uconn.edu

Dramatic Arts Department

DRAM 2711 Introduction to Directing
MW 10:10-11:00pm
Emphasis on theory and play analysis from the director’s point of view.
Professor Derron Wood. Open to non-majors – contact Nisha Hardnett (Nisha.Hardnett@Uconn.edu) for a permission number.

DRAM 4122 Theatre Administration and Organization
MW 11:00-12:15pm
A survey of the organizational structure of the theatre in the United States, including community, university and regional theatres, and “on”, “off”, and “off-off” Broadway. Personnel, budgeting, unions and audience development will be covered.
Professor Frank Mack: frank.mack@uconn.edu

DRAM 4135/4135W Period Studies, “Experiencing Shakespeare”
TuTh 9:30-10:45am
This course will examine Shakespeare as an enduring cultural force whose works continually find new and exciting ways of being expressed and experienced. We will analyze Shakespeare’s comedies, tragedies, and histories through printmaking workshops, puppetry seminars, Connecticut Repertory Theatre performances (e.g., King Lear), dialect presentations, and yet-to-be-released film screenings.
Professor Thomas Meacham: thomas.meacham@uconn.edu

Music Department

MUSI 1002 Sing and Shout! History of America in Song
Tu 11:00 – 12:45pm (Sec 1D 11:00 – 11:50am Th; Sec 2D 12:00 – 12:50pm Th)
Develop an understanding of American people, history and culture through the study and singing of American folk songs. CA 1. CA 4.
Professor Mary Ellen Junda: mary.junda@uconn.edu

MUSI 1003 Popular Music and Diversity in American Society
Tu 2:00 – 2:50pm; TuTh 5:00 – 5:50pm
An introduction to popular music and diversity in America: jazz, blues, Top-40 pop, rock, hip-hop and other genres. Musicians and their music studied in the context of twentieth-century and contemporary American society, emphasizing issues of race, gender, class, and resistance. No prior musical training or knowledge required. CA 1. CA 4.
Professor Glenn Stanley: glenn.stanley@uconn.edu

MUSI 1107 Steel Pan Ensemble
MW 6:00 – 8:00 pm
Performance of a repertoire that varies from the traditional calypso and soca styles of Trinidad and Tobago to today’s pop music. No previous musical experience required.
Professor Robert Stephens: robert.stephens@uconn.edu

Share.

About Author

Comments are closed.